A Travel Journal, SUVpacking America

On the road. Discovering who This New Man is.

There Are No Limits

SUVpacking USA

SUVpacking USA

What’s the difference between backpacking and SUVpacking? Allan asked.

I said I wasn’t sure but wondered if it had something to do with packing up your SUV?”

Close, he said, but not quite. In backpacking carry a little of what you need to survive on the ground as you see certain places. With SUVpacking you take a lot more, keep it organized in tight places, stay connected and drive wherever you want.  Then you get to stay in a fancy hotel, in an RV park, on the beach or wherever you can park legally! There are no limits and you get to rely on the sportiness of the vehicle for travel, work an fun. Way better than just packing it on you back.

We were sitting at a Starbucks, me enjoying my Caramel Macchiato listening as Allan got excited about this new project. He said it isn’t new, just a ride-along with The New Man. “We’re doing it anyway,” so why not write as we discover what it means.

I’m like: ” Geeezzz…how are we gonna pull this one off too?” But I say aloud,  “Great. Awsome idea. Let’s, do it!”

It took me almost two months from the moment he told me this – and my fake response – to understand the concept of SUVpacking. it just sort of sank in and I was seeing signs of it everywhere. Miles and miles and miles together with 2 dogs, and i was getting that it really was an idea that made sense.

But my saying next, “I get it. Let’s have another blog.” That one I think I should have thought more about.

PS: Oprah has not yet contacted me.  Hmmm… Maybe I’m more of a Bravo guy. They make reality shows of almost everything now. I can see  Lisa Vanderpump From RHOB SUVpacking with a pink SUV.  Let’s ALL GO SUVpacking!

Tell us what you think about the swag of men!

Flickr Photos

More Photos

The Men's Traveling Style Blog

7 inches down

San Francisco Fashion

campfirememories

a blog to complement: "Memory Lake: The Forever Friendships of Summer," an award winning novel-memoir

Poster Space SAMPLES

Your project up in lights! What it might look like.

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

