A Travel Journal, SUVpacking America

On the road. Discovering who This New Man is.

Lost and Recycle Lifes

Fortune CookieI lost everything, my business, my house, even my faith. But one thing I know, I have not lost the love of my family and the support of my true friends. And with the help of them I will start all over again. It’s not gonna be easy, but now I know I can do it.

La Parada was the stopping and starting place for me. It was an adventure to see who I was and who I might be. It showed me that I’m stronger than I thought I was. It also gave me the chance to see that I’m not the only one in this situation.

The cost of this experience was modest in dollars but much in personal wealth. Living the lifestyle where every decision unveils hidden treasures or painful costs really taxes one’s soul.

I have seen men crying. Strong, confident men. They had done everything to get into cheap new shoes and a struggler’s wardrobe, yet they can’t see their kids, because they don’t have a job and can’t pay for the child support. I’ve seen men living in their cars, forced to use Starbucks to clean up for a interview, hoping this time they will get hired. Men that been unemployed for five years living on $10 a week in a tent — and daily they ready themselves into role models.

People collecting cans and bottles just to get by. A mindful change from once having been a doctor, a lawyer, an accountant. Even an architect?

I guess we all have to cash in one our pasts occasionally.

We take things for granted when we have money. When we don’t have to worry about paying for the next bill. Gives us a false sense of much. We criticize our neighbors, even our friends and family, when we don’t actually know what is happening in their lives. Is it so hard to ask them how we can help instead?

On the road they told me truths, these guys. Old fashioned and newly, differently, forcibly made up in unexpected ways. Mostly they just exposed who they were. These people, men mostly, were being new to themselves and to us all, and all I had to do was listen and hear.

Maybe no one is reading this or relating to it. It isn’t the script I’d write to turn adventure into a reality show. But I have a drive to write it down. It’s a big part of my starting fresh and becoming my own version of The New Man. Well worth the costs.

Six months I have been on the road trying to find who this guy was, who I am and who I need to be. Even though I’m still struggling here and there, who I will be will arise because others shared how they cashed in on life and I accept their need to do so. I have the money, the worth that is the love and support of my family, my friends and those who are virtually connected to my journey.

Not a bad return on my deposit. I’m gonna turn the change I got from the recycling lessons of life (other people’s and mine) and use the receipt of that exchange to help buy a better story about the different guy I need to be.

To those I met and to those otherwise connected to the journey: Thanks for letting me gather of some of your riches.

Tell us what you think about the swag of men!

Flickr Photos

The Men's Traveling Style Blog

La Parada USA

Cultura, Salud, Sexo, Viajes LGBTQA

7 inches down

San Francisco Fashion

campfirememories

a blog to complement: "Memory Lake: The Forever Friendships of Summer," an award winning novel-memoir

Poster Space SAMPLES

Your project up in lights! What it might look like.

