A Travel Journal, SUVpacking America

On the road. Discovering who This New Man is.

Wandering With Personal Change

travel SUVpacking USAWandering around our USAmerica has changed me more than I thought. I am not “me” anymore. At least I’m not the same me that I was before I left. Something happens to a guy (or even to two guys and two dogs) when they spend a fair amount of time looking to jump on different bus lines to their future.

I found it hard to get started, to more or less sell off or give away the bits and pieces of the past. But we can’t take everything with us and we don’t want to when we start looking at the roads ahead. We have to be selective about what to take and in which direction to go. After a while, that effort makes one look deep inside. And imagine what it is like to live day in and day out with the same creatures who occupy your vehicle.

So many people say, friends and family alike: “How can you guys be together so much for so many days? I’d kill someone.”

The trip hasn’t changed me that way but it has given me the chance to learn to value what I can carry with me, inside and out. I’m beginning to appreciate new depth and new opportunities, and I want ones that are really connected to the people and culture around me.

I think this trip also changed what I expect to get in the future. I love the fact that the road ahead isn’t well mapped out – we’re still going with the flow. And I want to find that in the career that comes out of this project. We will get a lot of great opportunities from writing about where we went and why we went there. We’ve started chronicling how to do it in our Ford SUV.

Jumping from there to a routine job will be hard. So traveling has taught me to expect quite a bit more from the career I face and the give and take of the relationship I’ve built. Like liking on Facebook, tweeting or posting detailed digitals onInstagram, one gets to see more about oneself and the mirrors that others hold.

I like this but still aren’t sure just what all the changes look like.

Tell us what you think about the swag of men!

Flickr Photos

The Men's Traveling Style Blog

La Parada USA

Cultura, Salud, Sexo, Viajes LGBTQA

7 inches down

San Francisco Fashion

campfirememories

a blog to complement: "Memory Lake: The Forever Friendships of Summer," an award winning novel-memoir

Poster Space SAMPLES

Your project up in lights! What it might look like.

