A Travel Journal, SUVpacking America

On the road. Discovering who This New Man is.

Editing One’s Life

To Travel for Men I had to chose to make some major changes in my life. Those changes included making a decision to write more, to write very regularly ( daily even), and to write across cultures. ( Y tambien empezar a escribir mas en español!)

I’ve already learned that this means writing many words and tying them to pictures. Taken together, this has already meant lots and lots of editing and editing.
But I’ve already learned that the trip is literally about editing my life, too. Starting with what I brought.
My discounted boots
Yesterday we stopped on the northern edge of Santa Barbara, a nature preserve. Room in the SUV was a little bit scarce, camping ground was close; style and needs demanding. But still I had to edge out my white DKNY tied beach pants, the excess selection of shorts, bygone shirts waiting to return to fashion. Boots — killer boots worn enough to eject them from consideration, even though they discounted at $200 a pair.
The scarfs, the gloves. Never thought these little stuffers would be hard to fit! Dios mio, esto no es tan facil como pense, pero me ENCANTA.
Life rules, however, and I had to edit it to fit the journey!
Take heed: making room allows for later editions.
We started in Sonoma, as I posted about already. But just the route from there along the coast to the sunset in Santa B has shown that men are adapting in their own ways. Like me, the men in Sonoma shared boots, rugged browns and dirty winter wear – or the look of dirty, yet classy comfort. Down south the selections changes to patterns, reds, Earth tones. A different rugged; working rugged.
Watch for my next post on styling for the fiscal cliff! Necessity is its own motivation for editing.
Tell us what you think about the swag of men!

Flickr Photos

The Men's Traveling Style Blog

La Parada USA

Cultura, Salud, Sexo, Viajes LGBTQA

7 inches down

San Francisco Fashion

campfirememories

a blog to complement: "Memory Lake: The Forever Friendships of Summer," an award winning novel-memoir

Poster Space SAMPLES

Your project up in lights! What it might look like.

